Why am I writing this blog?

I’m Bob Longman, long-time web writer of Spirithome.com.  I’m hoping to re-start my blogging career.  I tried a few years back, but the software and formats gave me fits; from what I understand, this should be easier to manage.  This blog will, of course, reference things of faith, and also of radio and municipal planning & development, among other subjects.

However, the main thing I intend to do with this particular blog is to mark out a different approach to politics.  It will take shape as the campaigns go along; the comments will slowly add up to something for the reader.  It is a friendlier form of political discernment, a non-mushy centrism, peaceful but not entirely pacifist, very moral but not very moral*istic*, capable of being partisan without being captive to party, a way of respecting just plain folks while still holding responsible those seek the public eye.  It’s a tall order, to be sure. But we’ve sold ourselves so deeply into the lie of ideology that most of us don’t know our way out.  In fact, I’m not entirely sure I do, either.  But I will try.

4 thoughts on “Why am I writing this blog?

  1. OK, coward. Let’s see how many posts this one will last. Your task is futile. The only way anything gets done in this world is by bashing heads, figuratively and on occasion, literally. Centrism is a wimpout. Extremism or anarchy are the real world.

  2. Kudos to you Bob …. I will sure to check in, to see what is being written …. For me, I am truly fearful of this government that we have now … I am fearful of our lose of freedom, I am fearful that my grandchildren may never have the understanding of freedom like we had, already they do not have the same pleasures of childhood as we did in our generation, where it was safe to ride bikes around the neighborhood until dark … My grandchildren are stuck being locked behind yard fences …. even as old as 12 !! I will make sure that my family will be at the polls in November, and that they will go there totally informed !!!

    • me thinks your grandchildren will be stuck in inferior schools since only the rich will be strutting about with their “vouchers” to buy their way to success. as to the old conservative lament of govt as the bogey man, may I suggest you study this govt more closely. study who funds the elections of our “representatives” – truth is our government is controlled by a tiny wealthy elite that now own all 3 branches of government (witness the debacle of Citizens United supreme court decision declaring the corporations people with equal access to free speech). both wings of the Corporate Party (the dempublicans and republicrats) are interchangeable except for their flavor of propaganda.

      bottom line, the old left/right thing is OVER. its now up/down. our system is broken, corrupt and a sham. puppets like Obama and Romney will do the very same bidding to their wall street owners – pretending their “party” affiliation has anything to do with their trojan horse “governing” is simply naive. so please DO inform your family – but not from the blather of Faux News or hate radio. please, you owe them an honest evaluation of the usa decline.

  3. well, that guy has you off to a great start bob. best of luck. I will hold back on my fav quote about the middle of the road. oh hell, why not … “nothing in the middle of the road but yellow lines and dead armadillos.” jim hightower

    */*
    jim

OK, now it's your turn to communicate.

